The University of Arkansas is committed to providing a safe campus environment for all who work, study and visit. We continue to work closely with the University of Arkansas System for guidance on policies and procedures for implementation and compliance with state laws.
Q: What is Enhanced Concealed Carry?
A: According to the Arkansas State Police, an enhanced license authorizes the licensee to “carry” or “possess” a concealed handgun in the buildings and on the grounds of certain locations. Possession is limited to carrying of the handgun on or about the licensee’s person, in a vehicle occupied by licensee, or otherwise readily available for use. At all times, the licensee must retain the firearm in his or her immediate vicinity (within arm’s reach). A licensee is not authorized to leave the handgun unattended in a separate location for safekeeping or future use, except when the handgun is placed in a locked and unattended motor vehicle in a publicly owned and maintained parking lot as permitted by law.
Q. Can anyone carry a handgun on an Arkansas public university campus when the new
laws take effect?
A. No. Campus carry is limited to individuals who have been issued a concealed handgun license and who complete enhanced certification training of up to 8 hours developed by the Arkansas State Police as required by Act 562.
Q. What does “concealed handgun” mean?
A. A handgun must be covered from observation so as to prevent public view. In other words, concealed carry licensees shall not carry a handgun openly or in any other manner in which the handgun is visible to ordinary observation by a reasonable person or in public view.
Q. Can I prohibit guns from my office?
A. No. However, the new laws prohibit an individual from carrying a handgun into grievance and disciplinary meetings conducted in accordance with university procedures and lasting no more than 9 hours provided (a) the meeting is held in a room that is “no larger than necessary to complete the meeting;” (b) the individual is given at least 24 hours notice of the meeting; and (c) a notice is posted on the door in which the meeting is being held that possession of a handgun is prohibited.
Q. Can I ask a student, faculty member or staff member if they are carrying a gun?
A. Yes, but the individual being asked has no obligation to answer. An individual with a concealed carry permit who has completed the additional enhanced certification training under Act 562 is not required to reveal their permit status unless asked by a law enforcement officer in accordance with Ark. Code Ann. § 5-73-315. No action may be taken against an employee or student because of their status as a concealed carry permit holder.
Q. What do I do if I see someone with a gun on campus?
A. Students, staff members, faculty members and visitors may not display a handgun on University of Arkansas System campuses. Handguns must be concealed at all times, barring life-threatening emergencies. If you observe someone displaying a handgun on campus, it should be reported to University of Arkansas Police Department.
Q. Can faculty, staff or students carry concealed weapons off campus?
A. Arkansas has offered a concealed weapon permit since 1996 that allows people to carry concealed weapons in the state.
Q. Will university faculty and staff be allowed to carry a concealed handgun?
A. Generally, yes, provided the faculty or staff member has obtained the required concealed handgun license, and has successfully completed the requisite enhanced certification training. Act 562 specifies that unless an employee is required to carry a firearm as part of the employee’s specific job duties (i.e., Police Officer), any possession or use of a firearm by the employee is not considered to be within the scope of employment with the university. As such, any employee who chooses to possess or use a firearm is acting in the employee’s individual capacity and not as an agent of the university, and is not immune from personal liability with respect to possession or use of the handgun. If the employee is injured by his or her own negligence in possessing or using a handgun in the workplace, he or she will not be entitled to worker’s compensation. Additionally, employees who decide to carry a concealed handgun must plan appropriately for its legal storage. Ark. Code Ann. § 5-73-306 (13)(B)(v) specifies that storage of concealed handgun is allowed in a locked and unattended motor vehicle in a publicly owned and maintained parking lot.
Q. Can a supervisor request a list of employees who have a concealed carry permit?
Q. What is the penalty for bringing a concealed handgun to campus without being properly
licensed or for carrying a concealed handgun into a prohibited area?
A. There are criminal penalties for violating the campus carry law. Violations of the campus carry law may, for employees, result in disciplinary action, up to and including termination, and for students, result in disciplinary action, up to and including dismissal from the university.
For more information please see the U of A System FAQs and implementation guidance or the Arkansas State Police Concealed Handgun Carry License Rules.
Concealed handguns are allowed on campus for people (who generally must be 21 or over, with limited exceptions) who hold a valid concealed carry permit and an enhanced concealed carry permit as established by the Arkansas State Police. The Arkansas State Police revised the Arkansas Concealed Handgun Carry License Rules in January 2018 to include enhanced concealed carry licensing and training requirements, restrictions and rules.
According to the Arkansas State Police, possession is limited to carrying of the handgun on or about the licensee’s person, in a vehicle occupied by licensee, or otherwise readily available for use.
At all times, the licensee must retain the firearm in his or her immediate vicinity (within arm’s reach).
A licensee is not authorized to leave the handgun unattended in a separate location for safekeeping or future use, except when the handgun is placed in a locked and unattended motor vehicle in a publicly owned and maintained parking lot as permitted by law.
Concealed carry is only allowed on campus if:
- A person is 21 or over, and
- Holds an Arkansas concealed weapon permit, and
- Holds an enhanced concealed weapon permit with up to eight hours of additional training
Open carry is not allowed on campus
U of A faculty and staff do not have the authority to ban handguns from classrooms
Concealed weapons cannot be stored in residence halls, fraternity or sorority houses
Concealed weapons are prohibited from:
- Athletic events and venues
- Jean Tyson Child Development Center